Original Endorsers of Monumental Women

Monumental Women is honored to have many supporters representing a wide variety of areas and interests.  Here are a few of them:

Please note that endorsements reflect the personal opinions of the individuals listed – not necessarily the institutions with which they are affiliated.

New York City elected officials

Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer; and ALL the women members of the NYC Council.

Congresswomen and Senators

Carolyn Maloney (NY); Rosa DeLauro (CT); Elizabeth Holtzman (NY ret.); Pat Schroeder (CO ret.); and Senator Kirsten Gillibrand (NY)


Dr. Kathleen Barry (Susan B. Anthony: A Biography of a Singular Feminist); Penny Colman (Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony: A Friendship That Changed the World); Robert P.J. Cooney Jr. (Winning the Vote: The Triumph of the American Woman Suffrage Movement); Dr. Ellen Carol DuBois (Elizabeth Cady Stanton/Susan B. Anthony: Correspondence, Writings, Speeches); Polly Welts Kaufman (National Parks and the Woman’s Voice: A History); Lynn Sherr (Failure Is Impossible: Susan B. Anthony In Her Own Words); and Dr. Marjorie J. Spruill (One Woman, One Vote: Rediscovering the Woman Suffrage Movement)

Sarah Burks (Cambridge Historical Commission); Jill Chambers (Indiana Women’s History Association); Dr. Blanche Wiesen Cook (John Jay College & Graduate Center); Dr. Joanne Goodwin (Women’s Research Institute of Nevada); Jill Moss Greenberg (Maryland Women’s Heritage Center); Judy Hart (former Superintendent of Women’s Rights National Historical Park); Marguerite Kearns (Edna Buckman Kearns Suffrage Collection); and Edith Mayo (Curator Emerita, Political History Division, Smithsonian)

Not-for-profit organization leaders

Ruth J. Abram (Lower East Side Tenement Museum); Liz J. Abzug (Bella Abzug Leadership Institute); Carole Artigiani (Global Kids); Nancy Genova (100 Hispanic Women); Eileen Hartman (National Women’s Hall of Fame); Desiree Jordan (Unite Women New York); Terry Lawler (New York Women in Film and Television); Molly Murphy MacGregor (National Women’s History Project); Ana Oliveira (Foundation CEO); Jessica Neuwirth (ERA Coalition); and Terry O’Neill (National Organization for Women); Sharon I. Nelson (CEO, Civically Re-Engaged Women)

Women’s groups

League of Women Voters of New York City; National Organization for Women – NYC Chapter; 100 Hispanic Women, Inc. – National Chapter; NYS PowHer; Oregon Women’s History Consortium; National Collaborative For Women’s History Sites; and Women You Should Know

Actors and Writers

Jane Alexander; Kathleen Chalfant; Letty Cottin Pogrebin; Katrina Vanden Heuvel; Gloria Steinem; Jane Wagner; Lily Tomlin; Ken Burns; and Anna Quindlen


Local One, International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees (I.A.T.S.E.)


Capt. Brenda Berkman (ret. FDNY); Lilly Ledbetter; Robin Morgan; and Rosie Rios, former Treasurer of the United States

Student groups

Monumental Women Club at LaGuardia High School; Feminist Club at the Dwight School; and Girl Scout Troops 3484, 3482 and 3746

Foundations and Companies

Monumental Women is grateful to New York Life Insurance Company; Wege Foundation; The Sister Fund; Lily Auchincloss Foundation; Acton Family Giving; Laurie M. Tisch Illumination Fund; Donald C. Brace Foundation; Ayco Charitable Foundation; Smart Family Foundation; Altman/Kazickas Foundation; Linkages Foundation; Inmaat Foundation; Bydale Foundation; The Puffin Foundation; The Reed Foundation; The Ford Foundation; Old Navy; Johnnie Walker; American Express Foundation; Dobkin Family Foundation; Starry Night Foundation; JPMorgan Chase and Morgan Stanley; among others

We also thank the over 1,000 individual donors who have generously contributed to our Monumental Women Campaign!